RESULTS – Summer Sizzler Slalom 2021

 In event results, Marshalling, Results

The Bournemouth & District Car Club “Summer Sizzler” Slalom certainly lived up to its title with Sizzling hot weather all weekend!!

A big thankyou to the marshals who stayed out in the sun all day and overcame a couple of small technical issues with the ipads getting a little warm.

The competitors were able to keep a close watch on their times as the event used the Sapphire timing system which produces real time results as each test is completed . This proved very popular particularly with the more competitive members whilst there were obviously others who were simply enjoying the flowing tests on a smooth grass surface.

Competition in the classes and overall was close throughout the day and  after 18 tests Graham Hoare driving his  Clio had pulled out a 10 second lead over the up and coming Mitch Stanfield in his smaller engine Ford Ka.

Another notable performance came from Lucy Cassidy driving a class A Corsa recording some very impressive times to take first lady and 5th in a class of 11 cars.

Wayne Grimshaw was a welcome entry who made the 250 mile round  trip up from Plymouth, posting some very competitive times  but a momentary slip on the second test saw him eventually gain second in Class C .

Competing on grass for the first time, Jaden Bartlett soon took to the new surface in his Fiat 126 and the junior driver had a great day.

More used to rear wheel drive rallying, David Kelly used his Renault Clio to great effect in his first season of autotesting with The Club taking second n Class B.

The next Grass Slalom at Eastbrook Farm is planned for the 18th July ( date changed from the 11th due to a booking clash) regulations will be circulated soon.


Results can be found by clicking HERE

FTD Graham Hoare. Renault Clio

1st Class A Mitch Stanfield. Ford KA

2nd Class A Clive Evans .Ford KA

3rd Class A Brian Cassidy .Vauxhall Corsa

1st Class B Steve Candy. Ford Escort

2nd Class B David Kelly. Renault Clio

3rd Class B Kev Mathers .Mazda MX5

1st Class C Oliver Hoare. Renault Clio

2nd Class C Wayne Grimshaw .Vauxhall Corsa.

3rd Class C Matt Bennett. Mazda MX5.

1st Lady Lucy Cassidy Vauxhall Corsa

1st U 25 Lucy Cassidy.Vauxhall Corsa


Many thanks and hopefully see you at the next one in July